Posted in Life, Love, Uncategorized

Mother, my hero!!!

They say all babies are beautiful, but that was not he case when it came to him. His head was too big for his body, his eyes oddly wide, his ears stuck out too much and his teeth didn’t fit in his mouth. People were not particularly flustered when he smiled at them. They did not fuss after him and when he cried, they did not care. Only one person did. His mother. Every time he shied away from a group of kids and kept to himself in a corner, she called out to him and when he did not answer, she took the children to him. When he did not trust his answer when doing his homework, she helped him out and reminded him “You can do it!”. Years later when he stared at himself in the mirror for too long, she’d say “If you keep staring at your handsome self for so long, you will go blind.” And he believed every word she said. That he was handsome. That he could do it all. When others did not believe in him, he thought of his mother, smiled to himself and went ahead to prove them wrong.

Related image

Twenty five years into his life, he realized the truth. He wasn’t ugly or insufficient. He was perfectly normal. His featured seemed enormous when he was a baby for the simple reason that he was a baby. By now he had grown well into his skin. People were flustered when he smiled at them or laughed, just not as much as his mother. They did care when he cried only that by the time they reacted to his outburst, his mother was already by his side sweeping him into her arms. The love she gave him made all else seem exiguous. And people doubted his skills and expertise because that is just how the world is.

When she called him handsome, it was no lie. How did he know that? As he stood in front of a crowd of friends and family looking straight ahead all he could see was the most beautiful lady he had ever seen (after his momma of course). At the altar when he said I do to his now wife, his heart was swell. ” Why are you afraid to approach her? She would be the luckiest girl in the world if she had you by her side…” His mother was never wrong when it came to some things. She always said that he was the best gift that God had ever given her, but he would like to tell her… I… would like to tell you that you are the gift here. Mom, because of you I am and because of your love I grew up to be the man I am today. You never denied me anything, well apart from the play station 2 I had wanted as a kid. But you knew what was best for me. You encouraged me despite my lack of self belief. You allowed me to explore and discover what I did best. Allowed me to pursue my passion and become my own person. I realised I have never told you all these things. So instead I wrote them down. I love you mom!!!!! What else can I say? I’m grateful, thankful, happy and many other things…

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY MOM!!!!

Image result for mothers day quotes

Author:

I am a born again Christian who loves to write. A student pursuing Electrical and Electronics Engineering . A lover of fashion and food. Art just draws me in, all forms of art. On a journey to self discovery and above all, knowing more about God.

2 thoughts on “Mother, my hero!!!

Leave a Reply

