Posted in Life, Love, Mood, Poetry, Uncategorized

Happy Valentine’s… Or is it??

15

It’s valentine’s day today
Eyes half closed
I look outside my window
It was cloudy and gray
Not the usual blue sky
With birds chirping that I usually wake up to
In an hour I’m out of the room heading into town
And there it is
A painful reminder of what day it is
The red that painted the streets
The posters and banners for offers
Parks, now full of people
Streets with people in pairs
Only I walked alone
As I had in previous years
But when I looked at the couples
That made my propagating
Of the streets a great task
I couldn’t help but smile
As if I knew something
What was it though?
Who was responsible for my smile?
All the way to Imax
I walk almost in a jog
With the money I had
I bought a second ticket
Put one hand in my pocket
Pulled out the first…
Seems like I wouldn’t have to watch the movie alone
As I held both tickets in hand
An image of him popped up in my head
And my smile slowly fades away
What if history repeats itself?
Is he an addition to a long line of disappointments?
Do I even want this??
To me he felt like
One of those guys who show up
Make you happy
Turn your life upside down
And disappear
Leaving you in turmoil
Shaking my head I quickly brush the thoughts aside
I choose to concentrate on the here and now
I rush back to my room
To get ready
Filled with bliss
And questions of what I was going to wear
I decided against red
Settled on black
Why? I don’t know
It was going to be an interesting evening
At least that’s what I thought
Until I woke up…

best-valentine-images

Author:

I am a born again Christian who loves to write. A student pursuing Electrical and Electronics Engineering . A lover of fashion and food. Art just draws me in, all forms of art. On a journey to self discovery and above all, knowing more about God.

2 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s… Or is it??

Leave a Reply

