Posted in Uncategorized

Photography and the Environment.

img_20151227_140136

Photo credits:- Alfie Ciru

I remember when I was buying myself a phone. I had saved for a really long time and I was feeling so proud of myself. When anyone asked me what I was looking for in a phone, all I could say was “a good camera”. I didn’t care much about the memory space or the operating system or the processor specifications. They simply did not matter. Once I bought the phone I wanted, I realized the 8MP were simply not enough to give me what i wanted. The photos I use here were taken by this phone. So I resolved to start saving to get a professional camera. So far it still remains a resolution yet to be seen through to completion.

img_20151227_130014
It even looks gloomy

Africa the dark continent! As an African I would get offended when I heard this. “We have electricity, industries, education and social media you know..!”, is what would run through my mind. Then I looked at satellite pictures of the world at night and Africa really is dark. But do you know what else Africa is?? Beautiful!! Full of beautiful people, animals and scenery. The land is fertile and it’s produce in plenty. Yet we seek to destroy this beauty. Slowly global warming is taking a toll on our land and we do not realize it. I remember there was a time when lake Elementaita was full of flamingos. There was a time when there were luxurious hotels at the lakeside all along the Rift Valley. Β There was a time when wild animals were many running and basking under the sun. It’s sad that all these are no more. The waters are polluted and no longer suitable for habitation of wild life; the lakes are overflowing and have flooded the hotels leading to them being shut down and let’s not get started on poaching… Well, saying that poaching has become a menace is an understatement.

In the photos I take, I choose to make sure there is water somewhere as I see water as a symbol of life. I like to have some vegetation or flowers as these show abundance. Above all, I love to capture the sky as a sign that there still is hope for our country, our continent and our world.

dsc01814
What a beautiful world it would be!!

Let us conserve our environment keeping in mind that if we take care of nature, nature will take care of us…

Author:

I am a born again Christian who loves to write. A student pursuing Electrical and Electronics Engineering . A lover of fashion and food. Art just draws me in, all forms of art. On a journey to self discovery and above all, knowing more about God.

One thought on “Photography and the Environment.

Leave a Reply

